Become a Confident Urban Cyclist, Earn 2,000 Wellbeing Points
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 - 09:53

BikeMN will offer on-campus Smart Cycling Course from May to October. This traffic skills course gives cyclists the confidence they need to ride safely and legally in urban traffic. 

The course covers bicycle safety checks, on-bike skills and crash avoidance techniques, and includes a student manual. This fast-paced course prepares cyclists for a full understanding of bicycle driving.

Registration is $95 but you are welcome to pay what you can afford. This is a ten-hour, two-day course that meets the last Friday of the month from 6-9 p.m. and the following Saturday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This program is supported by UMN's Transportation and Wellbeing Programs.

Course Title: Traffic Skills 101/Smart Cycling Full Course

Registration at: https://www.bikemn.org/events-category/training/

Location: Classes meet at U of M Bike Center and then head to the Ski-U-Mah parking lot.

Dates: 

  • Friday, May 27 - 6-9 p.m.

  • Saturday, May 28 - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

----

  • Friday, June 24 - 6-9 p.m.

  • Saturday, June 25 - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

----

  • Friday, July 29 - 6-9 p.m.

  • Saturday, July 30 - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

----

  • Friday, August 26 - 6-9 p.m. (off-site TBD)

  • Saturday, August 27 - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. (off-site TBD)

----

  • Friday, September 30 - 6-9 p.m.

  • Saturday, October 1 9 a.m. to 4 p.m . (off-site TBD)

----

  • Friday, October 28 - 6-9 p.m.

  • Saturday, October 29 - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. (off-site TBD)

All PTS News

University of Minnesota Twin Cities Parking & Transportation Services (PTS) released contract parking rate changes as approved through the Board of Regents and budget process for the 2022-23 academic year.

The Campus Zone Pass is no longer available to the University. This discontinued program allowed free rides on the light rail between the three campus rail stations.

Starting this week, on-campus parking meters will be replaced and upgraded. 

The Universal Transit Pass program was approved by the University of Minnesota’s Board of Regents. In the 2022 fall semester, University of Minnesota students who pay the Transportation and Safety Fee will have unlimited access to the regional transit system. The University of Minnesota is now the largest school in the region to offer all students unlimited ride transit passes. 

Beginning Monday, June 13 and continuing into November 2022, Cleveland Avenue will be closed between Como and Buford Avenues for year 1 of Ramsey County's Cleveland Avenue Reconstruction Project.  

BikeMN will offer on-campus Smart Cycling Course from May to October. This traffic skills course gives cyclists the confidence they need to ride safely and legally in urban traffic.